Less Hefty-Hefty-Hefty!

I’m not going to bury the lead.  My blog was dormant over the last couple of months, but  my weight loss efforts weren’t.

I met my Year One goal at a mid-fall weigh in.  On October 17, I  learned I was down 55 pounds.

See those dumbbells?  Well, two-plus of those suckers are GONE-GONE-GONE from my body!

<===THROW CELEBRATORY CONFETTI NOW!

My mid-October stats showed that I lost slightly more than three pounds per week.  Fortunately, it was all fat – no muscle.

Sayonara, Fat! I bid you a not-so-fond adieu! Good riddance!

But wait! There’s more!

After my October weigh-in, I upped my Year One weight loss goal from 50 to 75 pounds.  Though the pace at which my pounds disappeared was bound to slow, I figured could lose an additional 20 pounds in 10 weeks.

So far…So good.

The pace has slowed a tad (slightly less than 3 lbs/week), but as of December 1, I weighed in with 15 fewer pounds.  So, the grand total is 70 pounds lost to date.

Makes you look at a 10-pound bag of potatoes differently.  Until recently, I was lugging around an additional seven full bags of them.

I hope to lose many more bags before this process is done…  But for now, I’m just focused on losing an additional 5 pounds before year-end.

My next weigh-ins are scheduled for December 15th and 29th.  I’ll keep you posted.  And I’ll follow-up with some things I’ve learned during this process.

Keep your fingers crossed for me!

~ Photo #1 courtesy of Brad Montgomery
~ Photo #2 courtesy of
heydrienne
About Barbara

Married to Greg, the nicest Greek man in the world. No kids - just two hyperactive Maine Coon cats - Griffin and Harper. Independent consultant. News and political junkie. Diehard social progressive. Movie lover. Book reader. Blog writer. Overweight. Underpaid. Open-minded about everything except closed-minded folks. Occasionally witty. Sometimes wise. Always wise-ass.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Less Hefty-Hefty-Hefty!

  1. Nicole says:

    That is amazing! You are truly an inspiration, Barb! I’m really glad you started posting again.

  2. Crista Vasina says:

    Congratulations Barbara! Once again you are amazing. No matter what you decide to do you do it with greatness!!

    • Barbara says:

      Thanks so much for the kind words, Crista. You made me blush. 🙂 The post is somewhat self-indulgent and self-congratulatory, but I had some people asking me how things are going. They figured I gave up, because I hadn’t blogged in such a long time. Fortunately, that’s not the case. Still a long road to travel, but I’m chugging along at a decent pace. Ever forward!

What Do You Think?

