RECIPE: Greek Village Salad

Hello. My name is Barbara and I’m addicted to Greek Village Salads.

I’m not exaggerating. I eat tons of the stuff – literally pounds and pounds of it.

In fact, in this pictorial recipe, you’ll see that we make what looks like a week’s supply in a large Tupperware container. However, Greg and I go through it in about a day and a half.

Well, truth be told, *I* plow through most of it. Greg is lucky if he gets more than one serving out of it. (I can’t help myself)

A “Flexible” Recipe

By that, I mean you can easily use more or less of each ingredient. You can also add or remove ingredients based on your personal taste. For example, Greg loves radishes – not exactly a traditional Mediterranean salad ingredient – but we add them to our Village Salads.

On the other hand, I’m not a fan of Kalamata olives. I know…I know…it’s a sacrilege to marry a Greek man and NOT like Kalamata olives. What can I say? I’m in counseling to address this major flaw.

The point is, if you like radishes or Kalamata olives,  feel free to add them. If you don’t, don’t. Make a salad that suits YOUR village!

Bet You Can’t Eat Just One!

This is a terrific healthy and delicious salad, especially in the summer when tomatoes are plentiful and cheap(er).

Greek Village Salad

Ingredients (more or less)
2 cucumbers
5 tomatoes
1 Bell pepper (yellow, red or orange)
1/4 onion  (red or Vidalia)
2 radishes
7-8 ounces feta cheese (use good stuff – don’t scrimp)

Directions:

STEP 1: Peel cucumbers.

STEP 2: Slice cucumbers and then cut slices in half.STEP 3: Add cucumbers to large salad bowl (or Tupperware).STEP 4: Slice tomatoes into wedges (1/8th each).STEP 5: Slice wedges in half (1/16). Add to salad bowl.STEP 6: Slice pepper in half width-wise. STEP 7: Remove seeds and membrane. Slice each half into quarters.STEP 8: Chop quarters into “chunky” pieces.STEP 9: Add peppers to salad bowl. STEP 10: Slice onion thinly. (I like just a little onion and don’t like thick or chunky raw pieces. You can chop, dice, or slice to your desired size and add more/less to the salad.)STEP 11: Add onions to salad bowl. (here’s what the thinly cut onions look like)STEP 12: Slice radishes thinly. Cut slices in half.STEP 13: Add radishes to salad bowl.STEP 14: Chop/crumble feta.STEP 15: Add feta to salad bowl.STEP 16: Mix salad ingredients thoroughly. (If using Tupperware container, can put lid on and rotate/shake the container to mix the ingredients)Other Tips:

  • Herbs: Some people also add oregano or mint to the salad, but I prefer our herb-less version.
  • Salad Dressing: Use whatever suits your fancy. However, you could skip salad dressing, because the feta coats the other vegetables and makes it all quite tasty. I often use a small amount (~1 tablespoon) of fat-free Italian or Greek dressing. Other times, throwing some good balsamic vinegar on it gives it just the right kick.

I’m sure I could have cut at least half of the pictures, but Greg made the salad and took these colorful shots as he progressed. I appreciate his effort and like the shots, so I included them. Slightly self-indulgent, but I think they make for a “prettier”post.

ENJOY!

Our Rating*: 5 – Scrumptious /Company Worthy

* Our Rating Scale = 1 (Yuck/Throw it Out Before we Throw it Up) to 5 (Scrumptious /Company-worthy)
About Barbara

Married to Greg, the nicest Greek man in the world. No kids - just two hyperactive Maine Coon cats - Griffin and Harper. Independent consultant. News and political junkie. Diehard social progressive. Movie lover. Book reader. Blog writer. Overweight. Underpaid. Open-minded about everything except closed-minded folks. Occasionally witty. Sometimes wise. Always wise-ass.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to RECIPE: Greek Village Salad

  1. This recipes sounds really good. I am going to have to try it, especially since I recently found that I thoroughly enjoy radishes. I have a greek salad recipe that is a little different if you want to check it out. http://provreviewsandrecipes.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/couscous-greek-salad/
    Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  2. Lynn says:

    After having it more times than I can count, I can attest to the goodness of this salad! (It also helps to have it prepared by a genuine Greek salad-maker. I happen to know one if anyone is interested.)

  3. Pingback: Fruits and Veggies: Of Thee I Sing! | My Many Issues – One Rant at a Time

What Do You Think?

